A noble Renaissance residence
A symbol of the Renaissance in Saluzzo, in the 15th century it was the residence of the family of Galezzo and Francesco Cavassa, both Vicars General of the Marquises.
It is a charming building with balconies, turrets and spiral staircases and the slope of the hill has been used to create 6 storeys. The building was restored by Emanuele Tapparelli d’Azeglio and donated by him to the city as a civic museum in 1883/90. It features a sequence of rooms with painted wooden ceilings, decorated walls, period style furniture, frescoes and paintings including the Madonna della Misericordia, a masterpiece by Hans Clemer (1499). The family emblem is everywhere: a fish swimming against the current and the ambiguous motto Droit quoi quil soit.
Casa Cavassa has been included on the national network of Case della Memoria – houses of memory.
Winter opening 1st October – 31st March:
Tuesdays 2.30-5 p.m.; Thursdays and Fridays 2.30-5 p.m.; Saturdays, Sundays and holidays 10.30a.m-12.30 p.m./2.30-5 p.m.
Summer opening 1st April – 30th September:
Tuesdays and Thursdays 10 a.m. – 1 p.m./3-6 p.m.; Fridays 3-6 p.m.;Saturdays, Sundays and holidays 10 a.m.-1 p.m./3-6 p.m.
Guided tours at fixed times on Saturdays, Sundays and holidays.
Winter opening 1st October – 31st March
Tuesdays – Sundays 10 a.m.- 12 p.m./3-6 p.m.
Summer opening 1st April – 30th September
Tuesdays – Sundays 10 a.m.- 12 p.m./3-6.30p.m.